Home > Uncategorized > Dear Portland (Month 1)

Dear Portland (Month 1)

November 2, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Dear Portland,

So. We’ve been together for a month now. I’m not so sure how I feel about you, but that’s typical for me in new relationships. You’re going to need to be patient with me. I won’t even tell you how many years it took me to fall in love with Columbus.

I’ll admit, there have been a lot of things bouncing around in my brain this past month, distracting me from your efforts to woo me. I’ve got some unpleasant stuff going on, plus the issues I carry with me, everywhere I go. I’m going to try to unload them eventually, I promise. One thing, though: your drivers are a**holes. Really, they are. Driving in this city is insanely stressful, and I can’t wait to move closer to public transit.

Now that I’ve pointed out your most egregious fault, let me tell you what I do find attractive about you.

We’ve been on some awesome dates, Portland. Running along the waterfront, strolling through the rose garden, cheering with the Timbers Army at the last home soccer game of the season, walking all over Mt. Tabor. Your quirky Saturday Market made me laugh, as did all those dirty hippies camped out by City Hall. Your love of the Decemberists makes me smile. McMenamins makes me feel like a kid…well, a kid who can drink delicious beverages. Your autumn leaves have been stunning, and the bridges you’ve shown me are so beautiful. Every so often, I can see the mountains on the horizon, and it makes me weak in the knees. Your Alphabet District feels like a comforting hug. Your red line train turns me on.

It’s cute how excited you get about food composting.

I like that you’ve begun to open up and share some really wonderful people. You’ve shared some nearby gems, too — the coast, Champoeg State Park — and I like that you don’t get jealous when I talk about how great I think those places are.

I feel like I barely know you at this point, and I’m really excited to get to know you better. You’ve hinted at how much fun you can be, and so far, I really like your choices in food and drink and entertainment and outdoor activities. Can we go to a vegan bakery soon? And maybe the art museum and Alberta District? Cool. Thanks. Oh wait, can we go to Grant Park to see the Beezus and Ramona sculptures, too, or am I pushing my luck?

I’m sorry that sometimes when we’re together, I have lusty thoughts about California. California was my first crush, long ago. I promise I won’t cheat on you with California.

And I’m sorry that sometimes when we’re together, I talk lovingly about my ex, Ohio, and get teary and nostalgic. We broke up on good terms, but there are still a lot of things I miss about Ohio. A lot.

Last night, as I was driving into the city at sunset, I finally caught sight of snowy Mt. Hood in all its glory. I’ve been waiting a month for that. Thank you.

Love,

Caitlin

Tags:
  1. November 5, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Just now checking out your new blog. I really really realllly loved this entry. Really loved it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

