Home > Uncategorized > The beauty of the rain

The beauty of the rain

November 13, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve been trying to organize my thoughts about the Penn State stuff this past week – unsuccessfully, I’m afraid. I know most people are sick of hearing about it, but I just can’t stop feeling so sad about it all. Sure, there’s the Mighty Institution aspect of the situation, and as someone who was raised Catholic in football country, I completely understand that. It’s one of the things that has fostered resentment (and feminism) in me. But then there’s the whole idea that the people in charge, the people who were supposed to protect these kids, ignored the events and basically sent the message to these kids (and the parents that went to bat for them) that they didn’t deserve to be safe. Who knows what the real motivation was for these people in the position to do something, but as human beings, how could they not protect these kids? Are people really that closed-off or afraid to not show each other that they are worthy of love and safety? These kids were from dysfunctional families, and still some of them had parents that tried to do the right thing and protect them. Maybe that’s what devastates me the most and is so difficult for me to think about: that these kids had people who were willing to do what they could to protect them…and in my case, my family refused to do the same.

(And this is the part where the readers who know me are going, “Wha-?” I may share more later on. Bleh.)

Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

