Home > Uncategorized > Adventure!

Adventure!

November 15, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Yesterday, I ventured to the northeast part of Portland to visit the Ramona, Henry Huggins, and Ribsy sculptures in Grant Park. Yay for Beverly Cleary! Then I headed up to Alberta Street to see what the fuss was about. Not surprisingly, I don’t think that 1 o’clock on a Monday afternoon is the best time for fuss-checking-out. The neighborhood looked kind of like good old Clintonville in C-bus, so I was hopeful I’d get that homey feeling as I wandered around. Aside from the rock-shaped holes in the front of the Umpqua Bank (compliments of an Occupy Portland-sympathizing “anarchist”), there wasn’t a whole lot of action, or remnants of action. I decided to try Tin Shed for a late lunch, since I’d read good things. I had an “I’ll gladly pay you Tuesday” gardenburger with cheddar and a Shed salad on the side, and it was yummy! It’s no replacement for my beloved broccoli burger at Whole World in Columbus, but it’ll do for now. Afterward, I felt compelled to scope out one of the vegan bakeries in the neighborhood, and I picked up pumpkin whoopie pies for me and the boy. YUM. I’ve gotta figure out how to make those myself (and not necessarily vegan). Again, the bakery was no Pattycake Bakery (my favorite in, you guessed it, Columbus), so I shall continue on my quest for a suitable replacement.

20111115-181652.jpg
Time to make whoopie (pies)!

Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

