Home > Uncategorized > Dear Portland (Month 3)

Dear Portland (Month 3)

Dear Portland,

This past month has been crazy. You’ve been all festive and alluring, and I’ve been working my butt off, trying to get settled financially. During what little free time I’ve had, you’ve been so good to me, and for that I am grateful. Those running chicks you introduced me to back in October? I met more of them a few weeks ago, and they are awesome and seriously badass with the running. And then some of the chicks I met more recently set me up with more cool runners! So many running groups, so little time. And energy. But I’m working on that.

It looks like you’re okay with having a sort of long distance relationship (if you can call twenty miles “long distance”…if it’s runnable, which in my world it is, it isn’t all that long). Anyway, I’m glad that you don’t automatically want to break up with me over this. I think this might even make our relationship better. I might even end up using the L-word around you!

In true Portland fashion, yesterday you surprised me with a fantastic view of Mt. Hood as I drove through Beaverton to meet up with a friend from grad school. How had I never looked east on a clear day to see that beautiful sight? I’m pretty sure that’s my favorite view from the highway yet.

Portland, I love the way you know just what will make me smile and lift my mood. I’m so glad we found each other.

Love,
Caitlin

Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

