Home > Uncategorized > Birthday eve

Birthday eve

February 1, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Okay! Today is my second new year’s eve of the year, since tomorrow more legitimately begins a new year. I’m trying to be kind to myself, especially as I’m questioned as to what I’m doing to celebrate my birthday. (Interestingly enough, it’s only my dad and his sister who seem to be so desperately concerned with my social life, and neither of them are particularly kind to people. OH, THE IRONY.) I’m so used to being in school and having my birthday fall during midterms that I never give much thought to doing much of anything celebratory on the actual day, and no one else forces me to party. I’ve always been a bit of a nut when it comes to other people’s birthdays, though in the last few years, I’ve tried to cut back on serenading people over the phone and trying to perfectly calculate when to send their card. I think I’d secretly hoped folks would return the favor, but I’m okay with low-key now. I can’t remember the last time I did any birthday partying…maybe for my 14th birthday? And then last year, my parents didn’t make much of a happy birthday effort and didn’t bother sending me a happy birthday package until a week afterwards. At any rate, my birthday cake is cooling right now and will be frosted and covered with rainbow sprinkles later tonight. I will place a few colorful, sparkly candles on top, light them, sing with Frank, make a wish, and then blow them out before the cat claws me to shreds (or drags his paw through the frosting). The big 3-0 is going to come into my life quietly, with lots of silent excitement. By and large my twenties sucked, so I am ready for some good times.

I realize I haven’t blogged about much of anything so far this year, especially not upbeat things, even though I’ve had stuff to say. Like plans! For this year! A grand mountain getaway! Learning to play the ukelele! (That’s what I bought for Jam Fest 2012 two weeks ago.) Marathons! Canadia! A marathon in Canadia! Art classes! Snowshoeing! California! More therapy! More trips to the coast! More writing and journaling!

Here’s to more happiness!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

