Home > Uncategorized > Separation anxiety

Separation anxiety

February 3, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I leave for my first business trip early tomorrow morning. Luckily, I’m headed to Columbus! I’m trying to be somewhat stealthy so that my family doesn’t demand a visit and so that I don’t end up having to wrangle my emotions around them. They’re back to pretending nothing ever happened – not over a decade ago, not last year, and not at Christmas. I don’t think they realize how hurtful that is. So even though I’m just visiting with friends during the non-business part of the trip, I’m more anxious than I realized. And I had to take my little snugglebunny Frank to the vet/boarders this evening and oh, how he and I cried! Lying in bed now, I miss him terribly. All evening I’ve kept thinking I hear his little footsteps on the carpet. It’s been a while since I’ve had such a strong attachment to someone (not counting my therapists – ha!). I can’t imagine feeling that way about someone else now, unless it was my child. I sense a satisfying psychological hairball in all of this. Good thing I have a sweet kitty to benefit from my raging maternal instinct!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

