Home > Uncategorized > A dream come true (with a lot of non-dream stuff mixed in)

A dream come true (with a lot of non-dream stuff mixed in)

So, I completed the Eugene Marathon today! It was slow-going: being relatively untrained + being sick = we’re all lucky I’m still standing, let alone moving myself 26.2 miles. And guess who finished in the top 25? Runnerboy. Seriously, we keep doing the same races, but we don’t run into each other so that I can punch him. I thought I’d seen him during the portion of the course that doubled back on itself, but at new year’s he had no intention of doing Eugene. I think a poor performance (by his standards) at Boston changed that. But anyway, I’m still angry about the way he treated me. I’ll eventually let it go, I promise!

Anyway, the race finish was on the track at Hayward Field, the home of legends Steve Prefontaine and Bill Bowerman, and the powerhouse University of Oregon track program that was built on that foundation. It felt so surreal, running the straightaway that Pre used to run (much faster, of course), this place that I’d dreamed about for some fifteen years. Fifteen years ago I never would have imagined I’d be finishing a marathon (and not my first!) at Hayward Field. I’d like to imagine that 15-year-old Caitlin is pretty impressed with how far I’ve come.

Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

