Home > Uncategorized > The shame of taking care of oneself

The shame of taking care of oneself

I can’t figure out the source of my reluctance to take care of myself. Is it cultural, peer pressure, some psychological remnant of my past? I stayed home from work today because the exhaustion I’m experiencing from whatever ails me is unreal. I slept for about 15 of the past 24 hours. I feel like a schmuck for taking time off when I don’t feel well, because even though I clearly am not feeling well (wanna check out the perpetually swollen glands in my neck?), I feel as though I don’t feel sick enough to have a legitimate reason to call off sick. Pinkeye? Legitimate. High fever? Legitimate. GI issues involving one or both ends? Legitimate. Feeling as though you’re drowning in a deep pool of exhaustion? Eh, tough it out. Last Wednesday through Sunday, I was barely able to stay awake for 10 hours each day, and since returning to work, I still feel like I’ve been run over by a truck. I went back to the doctor today since, well, I still feel sick, and my latest diagnosis is a sinus infection. Here’s hoping that antibiotics are key to returning to the land of the (alertly) living. ‘Cause right now, I’m avoiding taking deep breaths to avoid coughing to avoid back pain and spasms. And not taking deep breaths while being a mucus machine provides a greater chance of developing pneumonia (an undesired legitimate reason to stay home from work). So keep your fingers crossed that I’ll finally be on the mend!

  1. May 11, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    crossing my fingers for you!!!!!!!!!!!!! with nick’s insurance [since i’m off work], we have a $30 copay. with this SINGLE ILLNESS, i’ve been to the doctor once and blaine 4 times [i kid you not]. he has to go once more for another ear check next week. he had SIX SHOTS IN THREE DAYS since the 2 rounds of antibiotics didn’t work. putting my math skills to work, THAT IS A LOT OF FREAKING MONEY FOR ONE ILLNESS. i’m pretty sure you have the same thing as we do, 99% sure that is, especially when you mentioned the super sore throat, yep had that 4 weeks personally. i think it is some super bug threatening to take down the entire workforce!!!! stay home as much as you need and don’t feel bad about it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

