Home > Uncategorized > Weather gloating is over

Weather gloating is over

Oregon decided to jump on the heat wave wagon this weekend, and I am the 1% that is displeased. Don’t get me wrong – I like a day with blue skies that doesn’t require a jacket or socks – but I need to know that there will be some cloudiness or raininess or cooler temperatures on the horizon, or I will get panicky. (Good thing I didn’t end up attending UCLA for undergrad after all, eh?) The intense sunshine makes my daytime sleepiness worse, and the promise of mild weather was what helped to lure me away from sweaty Midwest summers. Oregon, please deliver on your promises! Thank you.

I don’t have air conditioning (see: expected mild weather), so I spend my days and nights with a strategically positioned electric fan by my side. It reminds me of sticky summer nights as a kid, with my oscillating metal fan aimed at my body, sprawled across my mattress on the floor. The white noise of the fan takes me back in time, to a place where summer meant fireflies and thunderstorms.

I need a Midwest fix.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

