Home > Uncategorized > Gramma

Gramma

I couldn’t figure out why I was so grumpy yesterday and then feeling so dissociated today, but I finally realized today was the last of my sad summer anniversaries (’til next summer). It seems impossible that nine years have passed since my maternal grandma died. Add to that the four or five years of significant decline to Alzheimer’s, and she’s been gone nearly half of my life. She had the most comforting voice, the cutest smile and laugh, and the softest skin (always ready for a kiss on the cheek!). I wish I’d gotten to know her as I made my way through early adulthood – I only had that privilege with my grandpa (her husband). I like to imagine that she still checks in on me from time to time to make sure I’m okay. I miss her as much today as I did nine years ago.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

